Moving Forward

I’ve given a lot of thought lately to what I want my day-to-day life to look like after I graduate…and as I’ve been thinking about it, I noticed that this video was in my YouTube subscriptions. Jon is extremely inspiring and is the man behind the Who You Are videos. Watch them here if you haven’t seen these before:

After seeing Jon’s list of things that help him to have a better day, I decided to make a list of my own. Here’s what I’ve come up with:

  • Guided meditations first thing in the morning. These have unfortunately fallen by the wayside as I’ve been focusing more on school, but I noticed a huge difference in my day when I was taking the time to use them. It’ll be a lot easier to make them a priority again once I don’t have so much on my plate.
  • Starting the day with worship. Again, this is something I don’t get to do all that often because I’m usually in a rush. But if I were to do a guided meditation as soon as I woke up, followed by listening to some worship music, that would be a huge help in setting the tone for the day. I’ve seen what both of these things can do for me on their own, and together, they’d be a powerhouse.
  • Yoga. I haven’t actually tried yoga yet, but it is something I would like to do. I’ve heard that yoga can be a great way to really connect with your body and learn to treat yourself with kindness, which is something I’m striving for.
  • Eating real food. The food that I eat is tied to my income, but ideally, I would find a job after I graduate that would provide enough income to pay all my bills and still be able to afford real food. Real food makes me feel so much better, and is better for me.
  • Connecting with my husband. I feel the most fulfilled in my relationship with my husband when we take the time to just focus on each other and have a conversation. It may be in the few minutes before we fall asleep, it may be for an hour or two in the middle of the day. But either way, I’m in a much better mood when it’s there.

At this point, I don’t have a sixth item. Maybe I’ll discover one once I have more time to do the things that I want to do rather than being obligated to spend all my “free” time doing homework. Maybe I won’t find a sixth thing. Either way, that’s okay. What I’ve got is an excellent start. And so I want to challenge all of you: Make your own list. Sit back and see if there’s a pattern to your actions that helps you to have a better day.

Leave a Reply

