A Box Full of Treats

I know, I know…it’s been far too long since I’ve written. And with that, I have a confession to make…intuitive eating has fallen by the wayside as I’ve been distracted by my impeding graduation and attempting to drag myself to the finish line, which has proven to be quite difficult. However, that doesn’t mean that I have abandoned my efforts completely. I have primarily been spending my time gathering information and resources so that I will be better prepared to make positive changes after graduation when my time not spent at work is mine to do with what I will, rather than being dictated by how many essays are due within the next few weeks.

Here is what I have found:

  • Curvy Yoga. Anna Guest-Jelley, the creator of Curvy Yoga, describes it as “body-affirming yoga for people of all shapes and sizes.” I’ve always been intrigued by the idea of yoga because I’ve heard so much about its healing properties. But every time you see a picture of someone doing yoga, the person is already in great shape and is twisting their body in ways my inflexible self could only dream of. Anna makes yoga far more approachable and manageable for people of size, which I love. She has started a series called “Yoga for Your Actual Life,” which is made up of five-minute mini sessions to make it easy to incorporate yoga into your day. You can find the recordings that have been released so far on her SoundCloud page: https://soundcloud.com/curvyyoga.
  • 100 Days of Real Food. You may have heard of the blog 100 Days of Real Food, but what I’ve discovered recently and thoroughly enjoyed are the cookbooks released by Real Food author Lisa Leake. Following a challenge that she and her family took part in to avoid ultra-processed foods, Lisa has released not one, but two cookbooks that are great for beginners. Both of the cookbooks make the daunting task of switching to whole foods not seem so scary. I especially love the second book, which was released yesterday, because it has charts for things like grains to look for and avoid and oils to cook with and oils to avoid, as well as the top ten food items she buys from several stores, which allows others to look for those same items. If you’re interested in the cookbooks, you can find them here: 100 Days of Real Food: How We Did It, What We Learned, and 100 Easy, Wholesome Recipes Your Family Will Love100 Days of Real Food: Fast & Fabulous: The Easy and Delicious Way to Cut Out Processed Food
Leave a Reply

